David Law

David Law is a Distinguished Engineer at Hewlett-Packard Networking, has worked on the specification and development of Ethernet products since 1989 and serves as the Chair of the IEEE 802.3 Ethernet Working Group. In 2000 he received the IEEE-SA Standards Medallion for 'leadership and technical contributions to Ethernet networking standards' and in 2009 received the IEEE Standards Association Standards Board Distinguished Service award 'For long term service to improve the operation and integrity of IEEE-SA governance'. David has a BEng (hons) in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from Strathclyde University, Glasgow, Scotland.

Steven B. Carlson

Steven B. Carlson is the President of High Speed Design, Inc., a Portland, Oregon-based consulting company. Mr. Carlson has over 35 years' experience in embedded control systems and networking for the entertainment industry. He currently serves as the Chair of the Reduced Twisted Pair Gigabit Ethernet Study Group and is the Executive Secretary of the IEEE 802.3 Ethernet Working Group. Mr. Carlson served as the Chair of IEEE 802.3af-2003 DTE Power via MDI project, usually referred to as 'Power over Ethernet,' the IEEE 802.3bf - 2011 Time Sync Task Force and was a founder of the Entertainment Services and Technology Association's Technical Standards Program.

James Irvine

Dr. is a Reader in the EEE Department at Strathclyde University in Glasgow. His research interests include resource management and security for wireless systems, and he works as Academic Co-ordinator within the Mobile VCE programme. Prior to this he worked on the ACTS MOSTRAIN project providing communication services to high speed trains. He holds four patents, with three more being pursued, and has authored two books. Technical Programme Chair of VTC2004-Spring in Milan, Dr Irvine was elected in 2002 to the Board of the IEEE VTS, where he is chair of the VTS Technical Advisory Committee, and President for 2008-9.

Tony Jeffree

Tony Jeffree is an independent consultant, specializing in LAN technologies and standards development. Tony has been a member of the IEEE 802.1 Working Group since 1984, during which time he has edited numerous IEEE 802.1 standards, including the MAC Bridging and VLAN standards (IEEE Std 802.1D and IEEE Std 802.1Q), Link Aggregation (IEEE Std 802.1AX), and Port-based Network Access Control (IEEE Std 802.1X). He Chaired the IEEE Registration Authority Committee (RAC) from 2001 to 2010, and is the current Chair of the IEEE 802.1 Working Group, having been first appointed in 2000. In 1996 Tony was the recipient of the IEEE Standards Medallion in recognition of his work on the development of network management standards in the IEEE and ISO.

Valerie Maguire

Valerie Maguire, BSEE holds the position of Global Sales Engineer at Siemon. Her expertise is focused on balanced twisted-pair and optical fiber telecommunications cabling and transmission theory. She is Vice Chair of the TIA TR-42 Telecommunications Cabling Systems Engineering Committee, Vice Chair of the TIA TR-42.7 Copper Cabling Subcommittee, TIA TR-42 appointed liaison to IEEE 802.3, Treasurer of the IEEE 802.3 Ethernet Working Group, Secretary of the IEEE 802.3 Maintenance Task Force, and clause 1 editor of pending IEEE Std 802.3-2012. In addition, Valerie has authored over 45 technical articles and engineering papers, holds one U.S. Patent, and received the 2008 Harry J. Pfister Award for Excellence in Telecommunications.