| IEEE Xplore Digital Library | IEEE Standards | IEEE Spectrum | More Sites
Canada Home Canadian Review Journal Digital Library Showcase Foundation

Section Executive Committee

The operation of the IEEE Victoria Section is managed by the Section Executive committee, whose members are elected or appointed every two years. The officers are elected by the membership of the Section - the others are appointed by the Section Chair. We are always looking for IEEE members to assist in our volunteer activities. If you are interested in finding out more about becoming a Section or Committee volunteer, please contact the Section Chair whose email address is provided below.

Click on the link email beside any name to send that person an email message.
Hover over the on the right to read a short bio.


Chair Xiaodai Dong
Past Chair Alexandra Branzan Albu
Vice Chair Kin Fun Li

Kin Fun Li - Vice Chair

Kin Fun Li, PEng, SMIEEE, is the Director of Graduate Professional Program (Telecommunications and Information Security) at the University of Victoria, where he teaches both hardware and software courses in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He dedicates his time to teaching and research in computer architecture, and web search and mining. He is actively involved in the organization of many international conferences, including the biennial IEEE Pacific Rim in Victoria. Li also supports and participates in numerous international activities to promote the engineering profession and education.
Secretary Lin Cai
Treasurer Christopher Prince
Conference Chair Michael McGuire

Michael McGuire - Conference Chair

Michael McGuire, Associate Professor and Department Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering Dr. McGuire is an Associate Professor with the Digital Signal Processing Group. He works on applying digital signal processing algorithms to communications systems. He develops methods for networks to predict their future states to support better management of limited resources. He is also investigating physical layer security for wireless systems. After completing his Master’s degree at UVic, he was employed at Lucent Technologies for 2 years before completing his PhD at the University of Toronto.
Technical Program Chair Alexander Hoole
WIE Chair Alexandra Branzan Albu

Alexandra Branzan Albu - WIE Chair

Alexandra Branzan Albu is an associate professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Victoria (BC), Canada. She holds a PhD in Electrical Engineering from Politehnica University of Bucharest. Dr. Branzan Albu’s research focus is on computer vision. From a practical standpoint, her contributions to this field involve raising and solving research questions that are closely linked to societal needs such as environmental monitoring, medical imaging, rehabilitation, and aging-in-place. Due to the interdisciplinary and applied nature of the research problems under investigation, Alexandra has developed a number of industrial collaborations with companies such as Intel, SAP, Kongsberg-Mesotech, MTU Canada who have all provided funding for her research. Her research is also funded by the Canadian Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC Canada).
WIE Vice-Chair Narges Attarmoghaddam
Awards and Recognition Chair Nikitas Dimopoulos
Industry Relations Chair Greg Pascucci
Membership Development Jianping Pan
Student Branch Advisor T Ilamparithi
Student Branch Chair Robert Lee
Educational Activities T Ilamparithi
YP Chair Amanda Dash
Section Webmaster Tony Kroeker

Tony Kroeker - Section Webmaster

Tony Kroeker graduated from UVic with a MASc in Computer Engineering. He is also a founder of a local startup Tutela Technologies, which specializes in crowd sourcing network measurement data from hundreds of millions of smartphones all over the world. He specializes in distributed systems, software architecture, and data analysis.

Technical Society Chairs

Computer Amirali Baniasadi
Oceanic Engineering Chair Tom Dakin
Oceanic Engineering Co-Chair Jim Collins
VTS/ComSoc Chair Lin Cai
VTS/ComSoc Co-Chair Michael Hansen
IES Chair Yang Shi

Victoria Section Established: October 5, 1956
Council Affiliation: Western Canada Council