Organizing Committee


Important Dates

PAPER SUBMISSION             Download Call For Papers Flyer (pdf)

JUNE 27, 2016


JULY 31, 2016


OCT. 03, 2016

Call for Papers

The 2nd IEEE Southern Power Electronics Conference, SPEC 2016, offers an ideal opportunity for researchers, engineers, academics and students from all over the world to bring the latest technological advances and applications in Power Electronics to the Southern Hemisphere, as well as to network and promote the discipline.

Cutting edge researchers in this field will present keynote speeches during a four day programme that also features tutorials and technical sessions on theory, analysis, design, testing and advances within the field of power electronics.

The conference venue, The University of Auckland, is situated in the vibrant city of Auckland - the commercial city of New Zealand. Conference delegates can anticipate a beautiful ‘clean & green’ landscape and a social programme that includes exciting outdoor activities, scrumptious food and fine New Zealand hospitality. Scholarships are offered for students, and the papers presented at the conference will be included in the IEEEXplore Digital Library.

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

    Wireless EV charging - Chairs - Prof. Chun Rim - Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Prof. Udaya Madawala - The University of Auckland, Dr. Duleepa Thrimawithana -The University of Auckland
    Alternative capacitive and ultrasonic wireless power transfer technologies - Chairs - Dr. Patrick Hu - The University of Auckland, Prof. Dai,Xin -ChongQing University
    Wireless EV charging : Magnetics - Chairs - Prof. John Boys - The University of Auckland, Prof. Grant A. Covic - The University of Auckland, Dr. Hunter H. Wu - Utah State University
    Energy harvesting and wireless power network - Chairs - Dr. Patrick Hu - The University of Auckland, Prof Yue Sun -ChongQing University
    High power converters - Chairs - Frede Blaabjerg -Aalborg University, Prof. Zhengming Zhao -Tsinghua University, Kumar Gopakumar -Indian Institute of Science, Professor Josep Pou -The University of New South Wales
    AC-DC converters - Chairs -Prof. S. K. Panda -National University of Singapore, Prof. J. W. Kolar -ETH Zurich, Negareh Ghasemi - QUT, José Rodríguez - Universidad Tecnica Federico Santa Maria, John Fletcher - Univerisity of New South Wales
    AC-AC converters - Chairs - Thomas Friedli - ABB Switzerland, Jose Rodriguez - Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María, Patrick Wheeler -The University of Nottingham, Haitham Abu-Rub -Texas A&M University at Qatar, Marco Rivera -Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María
    DC-DC converters - Chairs - Prof. Ma  Hao - Zhejiang University, Akshay Kumar Rathore - National University of Singapore, Prof. Fujio Kurokawa - Nagasaki University
    Permanent magnet and reluctance machines: design, control and applications - Chairs - Prof. Tian Hua-Liu - Nation Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Dr. Kiani Morgan - Texas Christian University, K. T. Chau -University of Hong Kong
    AC machines: design, control and applications - Chairs - David Dorrel - University of Technology Sydney, Prof. Fouad Giri - University of Caen Basse-Normandie, Nuwantha Fernando - RMIT, Greg Heins - Regal Beloit
    Multilevel converters - Chairs - Prof. D.G Holmes - RMIT University, Maryam Saeedifard - Purdue University, Sertac Bayhan- Texas A&M University at Qatar, Prof. Kamal Al Haddad - École de technologie supérieure Montréal, Geoff Walker -QUT , Dr. Gao Feng -Shandong University
    Sensorless control and other advanced control methods for converters and electrical drives - Chairs -Professor Faz Rahman - University of New South Walse, Lilantha Samaranayake - Crainfield University, Dr. Mohamed Shaban Zaky -Northern Border University, Alireza Tashakori Abkenar - Swinburn University of Technology, Gerald Kalteis - Vienna University of Technology, Gilbert Foo - Auckland University of Technology
    Smart, AC, DC and micro/nano grids - Chairs -Prof. Mahinda Vilathgamuwa - Queensland University of Technology, Prof. Wang Peng - Nanyang Technological University, Josep M Gurrerro - Aalborg University, Sumedha Rajakaruna - Curtin University, Prof. Li Yunwei (Ryan) -University of Alberta
    Power electronics in HVDC, HVAC and FACTS - Chairs -Dr. A. M. Gole -University of Manitoba, Prof Zhao chengyong, Remus Teodorescu - Aalborg University, Alex huang - NC state university, Li Zhai -Beijing Institute of Technology, Mahinda Vilathgamuwa - Queensland University of Technology, Neville Watson - University of Canterbury
    Power quality issues, harmonic problems and solutions - Chairs - Li Zhai - Beijing Institute of Technology, Prof. Sarath Perera - University of Wollongong.
    High density power converters - Chairs - Prof Martin Neuberger , Dr. Luiz Carlos Gomes Freitas - Universidade Federal de Uberlandia, Tong Chin Foong
    Renewable energy sources: grid integration and stand-alone operation - Chairs - Prof. Mahinda Vilathgamuwa - Queensland University of Technology, Prof. Regan Zane, Jason Lai, Marco Liserre - Kiel University
    Energy storage systems - Chairs - Prof. S. S. Choi, Branislav Hredzak - UNSW, Athula Rajapaksha - University of Manitoba, Professor John Fletcher - UNSW , Dr Ricardo Aguilera - UNSW
    Active and passive devices for power electronics - Chairs - Tseng King Jet - NTU, Francesco Benzi
    Fault tolerant and diagnostic techniques and applications - Chairs - Chiara Boccaletti, António João Marques Cardoso, Dr. Omid Geramifard - Astar Singapore, Dr. Le Tung - Astar, Singapore, Prof. Jian Xin Xu - NUS, Sheldon Williamson
    Power electronics in mechatronics and robotics - Chairs - Prof. Maki K. Habib - The American University in Cairo, Prof. Fusaomi Nagata - Tokyo University of Science
    Power electronics in transportation and mobility - Chairs - Mehran Ektasabi - Swinburne University, Amit Kumar Gupta - Rolls Royce Singapore, Shantha Gamini AMC UTAS
    Power electronics in bio-medical applications - Chairs - Carlo Cecati , Toshio Fukuda, Óscar Lucía
    Emerging topics in power electronics - Chairs - Mahesh Krishnamurthy - Illinois Institute of Technology, Yaow-Ming Chen, Jin Wang - Ohio State University

Prospective authors are invited to submit a digest explaining the problem that will be addressed by the paper, author’s contribution, how it is different from the closest existing literature, the major results that have been obtained and their significance. The main body of the digest, starting with the ABSTRACT and ending with the CONCLUSIONS, should be limited to FIVE pages. The REFERENCE section of the digest will not be counted towards the number of pages. Use, at least, 10 pt font (12 pt is preferred) in double-space, single column with 1” margins.

Click here to download the digest template

Click here to submit your digest to SPEC 2016

Hosted by

Supported by