IEEE WA Section Event Gallery 2018







IEEE Murdoch University Student Branch (MUSB) Networking Event


The first networking event of IEEE Murdoch University Student Branch (MUSB) was held on 25th October, 2018 since its reopening back in this August. IEEE MUSB is a platform for the students of Murdoch University to develop their professional identity in the field of Engineering under the largest professional community of the world. More than 30 students from Electrical Engineering, Energy and IT background in undergrad, postgrad and PhD level, attended the event.


See the full report at Report for the IEEE Event 2018_Murdoch Uni.pdf



IEEE Condition Monitoring and Diagnosis (CMD) 2018 Conference


This was the 7 th CMD conference , and the first in Australia. The conference drew together academia, industry, technology providers, consultants a nd experts in power engineering to discuss and share ideas, present results, reflect on past experiences and discuss future trends and technology in the electric power apparatus monitoring, fault diagnosis and asset management.


See the full report at cmd_report_for_webpage.pdf




1 August 2018: The UWA faculty learning and teaching awards breakfast


One of the recurring awards IEEE PES WA Chapter Prize in Power Systems Analysis was presented to Mr Jake Sacino by chapter chairperson Mr Harry McDonald. Jake was most appreciative of the award and IEEE PES. The prize is awarded to the student with the highest mark in the unit ELEC 5505 Power Systems Analysis. The prize was established by the IEEE PES WA Chapter in recognition of the contribution by the then UWA Department Of Electrical and Electronic Engineering at the IEEE Power Con 2000 Conference. It was an initiative of the late Prof Kit Po Wong and there is an intention to name the future years prizes in memory of him.





27 April 2018: IEEE WA Section Student Prize Presentation at Curtin University


The prize is awarded for outstanding achievement in the core second year units in the Bachelor of Engineering Degree programs during 2017. The prize was awarded to Mr Ziyang Lin and presented by IEEE WA section chair 2018 Harry McDonald.


Prize presentation