Call For Participation

The 36th IEEE Sarnoff Symposium 2015
Newark, NJ, September 20-22, 2015

Sponsor: IEEE Princeton/Central Jersey Section

 -~-Early Registration Deadline: August 14, 2015-~-

Tutorials: September 20, 2015
Paper Sessions and Panels: September 21-22, 2015

Since 1978 the IEEE Sarnoff Symposium has been bringing together a rich diversity of telecom experts from industry, universities, and government.  The Sarnoff Symposium continues to grow as the premier forum for researchers, engineers, and business executives in the North East drawing an attendance from all over the world.  Through a series of keynote talks, invited talks, technical paper presentations, panel sessions, tutorial sessions, industry exhibits and poster sessions, IEEE Sarnoff Symposium 2015 will bring together leading researchers and practitioners in academia and industry to deliberate, discuss and share findings on leading edge research, implementation experiences and challenges.


        * Marcus Weldon, President of Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs
        * Venky Krishnaswamy, Vice President, Avaya Labs
        * Steven Wright, ETSI NFV ISG Chairman, AT&T
        * Bill Bayne, CEO, Transit Wireless
        * Sanjay Macwan, SVP and CTO of NBC Universal Media Labs
        * Sudhir Dixit, Vice Chair, Wireless World Research Forum
        * Narayan Menon, VP at Xcellair
        * Donald H. Sebatian, President & CEO, NJ Innovation Institute
        * Nirwan Answari, Professor, NJIT
        * Biswanath Mukherjee, University of California Davis
        * Anupam Joshi, Professor, University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
        * Yuanqiu Luo, Principal Architect, Huawei


        * Distributed Computing on GENI: Hadoop in a Slice(Network virtualization and cloud - HANDS-ON)
        Paul Ruth, Anirban Mandal, Rennaissance Computing Institute, UNC Chapel Hill

        * Juniper Networks OpenContrail “Hands-on” Technical Overview (SDN - HANDS-ON)
        Mike Langdon, Juniper

        * Integrating Packet and Circuit into Optical Switching Domain
        Hiroaki Harai, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Tokyo, Japan

        * Spectrum for 5G Cellular Systems
        Reza Arefi, Director of Spectrum Strategy, Intel Corporation

        * Unmanned Aerial Vehicle Networks and Communications
        Kamesh Namuduri, Electrical Engineering, University of North Texas


        * 5G: Challenges and Opportunities,September 21, 2015
        * SDN and NFV Based Carrier Network Transformation Strategies and Deployment Considerations, September 22, 2015


        * Tutorials: September 20, 2015
        * Paper Sessions and Panels: September 21-22, 2015



        For registration information, please visit:


        * IEEE Princeton/Central Jersey Section


        * IEEE Communications Society
        * IEEE Region 1
        * IEEE Photonics Society
        * IEEE Computer Society
        * IEEE PCJS AP/ED/MTT joint Chapter

Conference Chair:

        * Deepak Kataria (IPJunction Inc.)

Technical Program Co-Chairs:

        * Walid Ahmed (Verizon Wireless)
        * Ziqian (Cecilia) Dong (New York Institute of Technology)
        * Geoffrey Garner (Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. (Consultant))

Industry Chair:

        * Bahman Barazesh (Intel)

Panels Chair:

        * Ashutosh Dutta (AT&T)

Tutorials Co-Chairs:

        * Alexandar Kolarov (Applied Communication Sciences)
        * Rudra Dutta (North Carolina State University)

Local Arrangement Chair:

        * Khondaker M. Salehin (Bard College)

Sponsorships Chair:

        * Deepak Kataria (IPJunction Inc.)

Demos/Exhibits Co-Chairs:

        * Wenjia Li (New York Institute of Technology)
        * Syed M. Ahmed, CTO with AgileAccess
        * Feng Gu (The College of Staten Island)

Student Poster Forum Co-Chairs:

        * Shewta Jain (York College, CUNY)
        * Lijun Qian (Prairie View A&M University, Texas A&M Univ.)

Publications Chair:

        * Shweta Jain, (York College, CUNY)

Publicity Co-Chairs:

        * Ichen Mei (Healthcare Consultant)
        * Ming Xia (Ericsson)

Website Co-Chairs:

        * Francis O’Connell (Skylink Technology Inc.)
        * Komlan Egoh (NJIT)

Finance Chair:

        * Francis O’Connell (Skylink Technology Inc.)

Registration Chair:

        * Christian Makaya (IBM Research)

Steering Committee:

        * Habib Ahson (TechniQuest), Ashutosh Dutta (AT&T), Elias B. Kpodzo (L-3 Communications TE), Roberto Rojas-Cessa (NJIT)

For more information visit or email to

Download a Sarnoff Poster