IEEE Western Australia Section Chapters


  • Circuits and Systems (CAS) Society Chapter

    • Formed 3rd October 2018

    Chair: Tyrone Fernando (E-mail: tyrone.fernando{at}


  • Communications Society (ComSoc) Chapter

    • Formed 26th August 1996

    Chair: Dr. Felix Shen (E-mail: xi.shen{at}


  • Joint Computational Intelligence / Robotics & Automation Society (CIS/RAS) Chapter

    • Formed 10th November 2005

    Chair: Associate Professor Kevin Wong (E-mail: k.wong{at}


  • Computer Society Chapter

    • Formed 12th July 1993

    Chair: Dr. Hannes Herrmann (E-mail: hannes.herrmann{at}


  • Industrial Electronics Society (IES) Chapter

    • Formed 11th May 2019

    Chair: Associate Professor Farhad Shania (E-mail: F.Shahnia{at}


  • Joint Electron Devices / Solid State Circuits / Photonics Society (ESP) Chapter

    • Formed 11th July 2007

    Chair: Associate Professor Gino Putrino (E-mail: gino.putrino{at}


  • Joint Power Engineering / Power Electronics Society (PES/PELS) Chapter

    • Formed as PES 1st October 1996
    • Reformed as PES/PELS 26th January 2004

    Chair: Alireza Fereidouni (E-mail: Alireza.Fereidouni{at}


  • Signal Processing Society Chapter

    • Formed 25th August 1995

    Chair: Associate Professor Douglas Chai (E-mail: douglas.chai{at}


  • System, Man and Cybernetics (SMC) Chapter

    • Formed 9th November 2012

    Chair: Emeritus Professor Lance Fung (E-mail: lanceccfung{at}



Affinity Groups


Women in Engineering LinkeId Facebook

Chair: Dr. Fatemeh Rezaeibagha


Young Professionals

  • Formed 2010

Chair: Deep Desai



IEEE Western Australia Student Branches


Curtin University

  • Formed 1st January 2009

Chair: Luke Clements (E-mail: ieeestudentcurtin{at}


Edith Cowan University (ECU)

  • Formed 14 October 2015

Chair: Muhammad Bilal Shaikh (E-mail: m.shaikh{at}


Murdoch University

Chair: Sm Ferdous (E-mail: sm.ferdous{at}


University of Western Australia (UWA)

  • Formed 5th May 2000

Chair: Thomas Menzie (E-mail: t_menzie97{at}



National Chapters


  • Society on Social Implications of Technology (SSIT) - National Chapter

    • Formed 9th December 2005