Welcome to the official website of the IEEE Western Australia (WA) Section. IEEE WA Section is a not-for-profit technical unincorporated association registered with the Australian Business Registrar (ABN 73 150 912 699), and represents the Institute of Electrical & Electronic Engineers (IEEE) in Western Australia. In this website, you will find information about the Section, its sub-units, committee and activities.



VALE - Kit Po Wong (Born: 7 Oct 1946 Died: 8 Jul 2018)

It is with deep sadness and heavy hearts that we announce the passing of our great colleague and friend Professor Kit Po Wong.
Our Tribute to Kit Po Wong






2021 IEEE WA Section Certificate and Training Programme

2021 certificate and training programme


2021 Outstanding IEEE WA Section volunteer awards

2021 Volunteer Awards

The IEEE WA section is seeking nominations for 5 outstanding IEEE volunteer of the year awards.

These are:

Nominations will close by close of business on the 2nd November 2021.

Winners will be advised on the 16th November 2021 and will be publicly announced on 14th December 2021.

For more information read the guidelines.

To nominate please fill out the nomination form by close of business Tuesday 2nd November 2021.

IEEE Day Networking Event 2021

IEEE Day Networking Event 2021


Registration required.


IEEE WA Section member benefits

IEEE WA Section member benfits

For details refer to the Links page or the eNotice sent on Thursday 2nd September 2021.


IEEE WA Section 2021 mid year networking and dinner

IEEE WA Section mid year networking and dinner

Every year, IEEE colleagues and friends in Western Australia (WA) get together in the middle of the year for a networking and social dinner. The IEEE WA Section is inviting all IEEE members to attend this year’s mid-year networking and social dinner, which will be at 6:00-9:00 pm on Tuesday, July 6th at the Beiyrut Restaurant (75 Wanneroo Rd, Tuart Hill).

Register (https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/ieee-wa-section-mid-year-networking-and-social-dinner-tickets-157731006687) now, places limited.


Student Competition 2021 - “The IEEE Perfect Pitch 5-minute Competition”

IEEE Western Australia Section is inviting all IEEE student and Graduate student members in Western Australia to participate in ‘The IEEE Perfect Pitch 5-minute Competition’. Projects in all areas of IEEE can be presented by the IEEE student and Graduate student members to showcase their projects and how well they can present it.

All IEEE student and Graduate student members, residing or studying in Western Australia and with an active IEEE membership status, can participate in this competition.

Attendance is free for all participants and attendees.

Prizes: $200 and $100 for first and runner-up winner, separately for Student (UG) and Graduate Student (PG) levels.

Important dates:

More information and submissions:

Submit your entry to https://forms.gle/fXQ954Ve1QSXoMyd8.

Please contact Dr Guanjin (Brenda) Wang (Guanjin.Wang@murdoch.edu.au), the IEEE WA Section’s Student Competition Coordinator for more information.


Date: 1st June 2021

Venue Address: Loneragan Lecture Theatre at Murdoch University

Registration is free

Who can attend:


31 March 2021: WA Industrial Electronics Society (IES) Annual Technical Seminar, Award Ceremony and Networking Dinner

Organised by the IEEE WA Industrial Electronics Society (IES)


IEEE WA Section 2020

IEEE WA Section 2019

IEEE WA Section 2018