ieee RAS iesRSJ

IEEE/RSJ International Conference on Intelligent Robots and Systems
November 3-8, 2013, Tokyo Big Sight, Japan



The IROS2013 Awards


IROS Harashima Award for Innovative Technologies

To honor Professor Fumio Harashima, the Honorary Founding Chair of IROS conferences, by recognizing outstanding contributions of an individual of the IROS community, who has pioneered activities in robotics and intelligent systems.

IROS 2013 Best Paper Award

To recognize the most outstanding paper presented at the conference, based on quality of contribution, of a written paper, and of the oral presentation. Sponsored by RSJ and SICE.

IROS 2013 Best Student Paper Award

To recognize the most outstanding paper authored primarily and presented by a student at the conference, based on the quality of the contribution, of the written paper and of the oral presentation. Sponsored by IROS 2013 Conference.

IROS 2013 Best Video Award

A dedicated Award will be assigned to recognize the most outstanding IROS 2013 Video, based on technical merit, evidence of impact on the field of the reported achievements, practical significance of the applications, quality and clarity of the video and of the narration and quality of the presentation at the IROS 2013 conference. Sponsored by IROS 2013 Conference.

Best ICROS Application Paper Award

Sponsored by the Institute of Control, Robotics, and Systems (ICROS).

NTF Award for Entertainment Robots and Systems

Started in 2007, this award is to encourage research and development of “entertainment robots and systems”, and new technologies for future entertainment. Sponsored by the New Technology Foundation.

JTCF Novel Technology Paper Award for Amusement Culture

This award recognizes practical technology contributing to toys, toy models, and amusement culture. Sponsored by the Japan Toy Culture Foundation.

RoboCup Best Paper Award

Sponsored by the RoboCup Federation.

IROS CoTeSys Cognitive Robotics Best Paper Award

Started in 2010, this award is to produce interdisciplinary research on cognition for technical systems (CoTeSys) and advancements of cognitive robotics in industry, home applications, and daily life. Sponsored by the German Cluster of Excellence, CoTeSys.



Contact Address

Award Committee Co-Chairs
Satoshi Tadokoro, Tohoku Univ. (Chair)
Lynne Parker, Univ. Tennessee
Brad Nelson, ETH Zurich
Paul Oh, Drexel Univ.

Email: awards(at)






  © 2012-2013 IROS2013 Organizing Committee. All rights reserved.